Swimming with the Fish Tacos

One of my go to meals I like to order out is fish tacos. Whether I’m at a chain or Mexican restaurant I know the fish tacos are a healthier choice than some of the other heavy dishes. I also love making fish tacos because its a quick meal that surely doesn’t disappoint.  I like to use cod as the fish because it holds up when you cut it up and bake in chunks and doesn’t flake and break like flounder or tilapia may. Cod is also very mild and takes on the flavor of the spices nicely, not interfering with the taste.

20161025_182529
Tonight I made a beer batter using about a cup of Corona and whole wheat flour. I salted the fish as well as the batter and also added pepper.

I cut the semi thawed fish into thick strips and put into the batter. I stirred the fish lightly and removed each one and put on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil and sprayed with olive oil.

20161025_184654.jpg
I placed the fish in a 450° oven for about 25 to 30 minutes until the fish is brown and tender.

20161025_184808
After the fish is slightly cool or warm to the touch ensemble the tacos using your favorite accompaniments.  I served my tacos with sour cream, homemade guacamole, and sweet kale chopped salad from Costco.

20161025_192133
I also made cilantro lime rice as a side dish for the meal.  I followed the directions for the rice on the box and doctored it up with a touch of lime, tablespoon of cilantro, and a small jalapeño diced.

20161025_192255

Happy Cooking!

❤ Always,

TT

 

Leave a Reply

