Don’t Be a Turkey…Jerky

When I think of beef jerky I think of a hefty tattooed covered biker with a red bandana and long blond hair, chowing down a Slim Jim outside 7/11 and giving me the hairy eyeball.  I don’t think of a healthy high protein snack that would be good for my diet.  So ignorance is bliss until you realize it’s not and you’ve been missing the jerky craze.

Dried meats are one of the oldest methods of preservation known to humankind and there are brands out there that pride themselves on making high quality low sodium jerky.  Whether you want grass fed beef, organic chicken, turkey, or fish; there’s jerky for everyone.

I stumbled across a sample of Lawless Jerky ® at my local Wegmans and was impressed.  The Aloha Teriyaki flavor has a sweet subtle tang that leaves you wanting more.  I bought a bag and even jerkyized my non-jerky eating husband.  So if you are looking for a snack that’s healthy and gluten-free (yea, I knew you were wondering) I recommend heading to your local Wegmans, Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or other favorite grocer and trying it.  I still don’t think I’ll be trying a Slim Jim anytime soon, but hey you never know.

Leave a Reply

